book project

I have a confession that probably won’t surprise too many people… I don’t read very many books.  It really hit me last year when I starting forming the majority of my thoughts in 140 characters or less 😉

So I decided at the end of last year to develop a simple but effective plan.

  1. 12 months… 12 books
  2. Each book would be a blind recommendation from a friend

I decided to ask 12 friends (I intentionally asked diverse people) for one book each.  It was hard for some of them to come up with just one recommendation, but most of them stuck to the rules.

I am on my 5th book… here are the list of 12:

  1. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
  2. Lost Letters of Pergamum by Bruce Longenecker
  3. Peace Like a River by Leif Enger
  4. The Power of One by Bryce Countenay
  5. Watchmen by Alan Moore
  6. Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand
  7. Why Zebras Don’t Get Ulcers by Robert M. Sapolsky
  8. Foundation by Isaac Asimov
  9. Fountain Head by Ayn Rand
  10. The Illustrated Man by Ray Bradbury
  11. What’s so Amazing about Grace by Philip Yancy
  12. Everything that Rises Must Converge by Flannery O’Conner

Now that I am 5 months in, I am really enjoying the project.  I will try to follow up towards the end of the year with a recap of all the books.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

  1. I know you wrote this in May, but I love your creativity. By the way, are you staying on task with yoru goal? I guess that means you should have read at least 1 or 2 books by now. Just keeping you in check 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started